You are here

March 2018

FCCLA State Competition

Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Wed, 03/28/2018 - 13:38
Morgan Rhoton

FCCLA was able to participate in their State Competition. Congrats to the following students who earned awards: Ashley Norris received gold and took 1st place in the state for Interior Design! She has a chance to go to nationals in the summer. Anna Warner got silver in Life Event Planning and took 3rd place in the state! Other students that received awards were for fashion construction: Ashlee Allan: silver, Lorin Wyss: silver, Emilia Barrett: Silver. For the Focus on Children category was Sadie Harward: Gold. For interior design, Janette Smith: silver. Lastly, for Early Childhood Education, Brianna Abbott: silver.  Ashlee Allan was also awarded a $1000 scholarship from FCCLA for her service in FCCLA.


Spanish Fork High School earns ENERGY STAR certification

Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Wed, 03/28/2018 - 12:47

Spanish Fork High School has earned the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) ENERGY STAR® certification for superior energy performance.

“SFHS continues to demonstrate true environmental leadership by reducing harmful greenhouse gas emissions that are proven to contribute to climate change,” stated Jean Lupinacci, ENERGY STAR Director for Commercial & Industrial Buildings. “Today, 45 percent of U.S. emissions are attributable to commercial and industrial buildings, which is why improving energy efficiency is so critical for our future.”

ENERGY STAR Certified buildings and plants are verified to perform in the top 25 percent of buildings nationwide, based on weather-normalized source energy use that takes into account occupancy, hours of operation, and other key metrics. ENERGY STAR is the only energy efficiency certification in the United States that is based on actual, verified energy performance.

We’re honored to earn the ENERGY STAR for superior energy performance at SFHS and appreciate the efforts of everyone who has been involved in its efficient operation. Saving energy is just one of the ways we show our community we care, and that we’re committed to doing our part to protect the environment and public health, both today and for future generations.

On average, ENERGY STAR certified buildings and plants use 35 percent less energy, cause 35 percent fewer greenhouse gas emissions, and are less expensive to operate than their peers—all without sacrifices in performance or comfort.

To date, tens of thousands of buildings and plants across all fifty states have earned the ENERGY STAR. For more information about ENERGY STAR for Buildings and Plants, visit

Nebo School District Lagoon Days!

Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Tue, 03/27/2018 - 09:40

For the 2018 season, Lagoon will be introducing the “Summer Fever Fundraiser.” We are hoping to seize the excitement for summer by giving students and families a jump starts on Summer Fun at Lagoon. The Summer Fever Fundraiser will offer an exclusive discount to Utah School Families, and the Education Foundations will reap the benefits.

Your Price $44.00 +tax (Regular price $62.99). LAgoon will donate $3.00 to your schools Education Foundation for each single day passport purchased with this offer. Promo Code: NEBO18.

Tickets only Valid March 31st – April 29th May 6th, 13th, 20th, 26th, 27th, and 28th 

See attached PDFs for more details

We Are Las Chalitas

Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Tue, 03/27/2018 - 09:26
Leslie Swenson

The Las Chalitas celebrated their great year by enjoying an End of Year Banquet at the Clarion Event Center.  Each girl was Awarded an individualized Certificate, and 10 girls were recognized for Academics, being the "Most Outstanding" of their class, the Hardest Worker, Most Improved, and the member with the Best Attitude. These girls received beautiful Plaques that were donated by McGee's Stamp & Trophies. Each Coach also received a plaque from McGee's Stamp & Trophies as a thank-you for their hard work. The "comic relief" for the night was when each dad received a Money Clip that said "I don't Dance I Finance" which was also done by McGee's Stamp & Trophies.  We would like to congratulate the 2017-2018 Las Chalitas one last time on their Region 10 Title and placing 3rd in State. It was an unforgettable year!  

UVU Brain Fair

Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Thu, 03/15/2018 - 14:13

UVU Undergraduate students are inviting you to learn about the brain. The Behavioral Science Department at UVU is holding a brain fair on April 14th from 10am-12pm in the UVU LA hallway. Come and learn about brains and how they work. See a real brain. Build a neuron. See how neurons communicate. Learn how your senses work. There will be various activity stations set up that will allow children of all ages and their parents to learn about the brain, neurons, and our senses. Free and open to kids of all ages. If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Jorgensen (





CTE Welding Expo Competition

Submitted by kippy.bishop on Thu, 03/15/2018 - 12:53
Shaun Black

The CTE Welding Expo Competition will be held May 12th, 2018.

Need to purchase CTE Welding Expo items? Click HERE!

AP Testing

Submitted by on Wed, 03/07/2018 - 19:21

AP testing: Thursday, March15th is the deadline to sign up and pay for the AP test.  If you have any questions regarding AP testing, please talk to your AP teacher or Mrs. Plewe in the library.

ACT Day - Juniors Only

Submitted by on Thu, 03/01/2018 - 12:54
ACT Calculator Policy

ACT Day: Tuesday, March 6 is the ACT Test day. Juniors only – Students need to have a charged Chromebook and their charging chord with them. The students will do the ACT writing test as part of the test. The test will start at 7:50 am. The buses will pick up at 12:20. Please also check the ACT approved calculator list for the acceptable calculators


Submitted by bonnie.beckstead on Thu, 03/01/2018 - 08:32
Elise Ford

Spanish Fork High School's STEM Ambassadors are finishing up their time at Brockbank Elementary where they have been spending the past month teaching 5th grade students how to code.

Our STEM Ambassadors for the current school year are Maddy Johnson, Shadee Perez, Julia Holt, Hannah Moore, Evelyn Herner, Christina Mullins, Nathan Roberts, Andrew Wilkins, Joni Nielsen, Elexys Thomas, Anna Paletua, and Annalyse Lindholm.

Subscribe to School News